RSS

Lets dig right in…

12 Mar

First of all What is a solar flare?

A solar flare occurs when magnetic energy that has built up in the solar atmosphere is suddenly released. On the Sun’s surface are huge magnetic loops called prominences. When they touch, they short circuit each other, setting off explosions. The amount of energy released is the equivalent of millions of 100-megaton hydrogen bombs exploding at the same time! A solar flare contains high energy photons and particles, and is released from the Sun in a relatively short amount of time.

Now that you know what the technical term means, lets dig right in to why I started this blog.

I have started to realize each time the Sun releases a solar flare there tends to be a huge event that takes place on Earth within a few days.  <Don’t go away…keep reading> What if I told you just 3 days ago, on Tuesday March 8th there was a solar flare which was a high rating? It’s true go look for yourself at Solarcycle24.

What’s the point?

Three days ago there was a high rating solar flare (ratings of solar flares to be explained later), with in the past 72 hours the following has occured:

  1. 8.9 magnitude earthquake hits Japan with tsunami
  2. Kilauea Volcano erupts in Hawaii
  3. Millions of sardines are found dead in King Harbor Marina in Redondo Beach, California
  4. Massive fish kill in Australia

What’s coming…

Hopefully I was able to make you stop and think. In the next coming days I will share with you my other findings <yes there is more>, as well as explaining the ratings of solar flares.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Lets dig right in…

  1. jim heath

    March 14, 2011 at 9:25 PM

    The thing is in years gone by we would never had heard about these world events.
    The news would have taken months to reach us or never. So is what’s happening unusual?
    PS don’t mention yellowstone

     
    • Heather Sanborn

      March 14, 2011 at 10:06 PM

      Jim, I completely agree. This is why I started to write about this, once I kept digging I couldn’t help but think about it. I promise not to mention Yellowstone, that’s too easy. It just amazes me within 3 days of some of the powerful solar flares there are very powerful reactions.

       

Leave a comment